FREE Horbury Academy iPhone & Android App

Horbury Academy

Horbury Academy

Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy

 

 

Work Experience 

Every Year 10 student will complete a work placement usually outside of the Academy in either an Academy sourced placement or one found by students themselves in a suitable organisation or company.

Any queries about the process should be directed to your child’s Form Tutor as a first point of contact. Email addresses for all form tutors are at the bottom of this page.

Documents to download

Time line for the work experience process

Date

Title of Event

Purpose

Wednesday 9th November

 

6.00-7.30pm

Parent Information Evening

To provide a summary of new GCSE structures in particular how to support your child in English

Work Experience introduction

World of Work Day overview

Labour Market changes

Y10 Graduation and prefect application process

Tuesday 15th November

Year 10 launch assembly

Introduction of the work experience programme to all students.

21st - 25th November

Job Shop

Work experience places show-cased during period 1

Overview and explanation of job roles within large organisations, job specifications, roles and responsibilities and skills required

Students' opportunity to ask questions

2nd - 13th January

Application form completion

Students complete an application form in period 1 and submit this by email to bshingler@horburyacademy.com

Tuesday 4th April

World of Work Day (professional dress code)

Introduction to the World of Work  and the labour market

Guest speaker on professional work conduct

Mock interview with an employer

Introduction to UCAS Progress and post 16 Application process

Term 3

2017

Parent Letter

Confirming placement with Risk Assessment information where available

Term 3

2017

Work Experience Booklet

Help, tips and advice for the week of the placement

Term 3

2017

Safe Travel and Health and Safety Training

How to keep yourself safe whilst travelling and on placement

General tips and advice regarding what to do in the workplace

10th - 14th July 2017

Work Experience Week and Booklet

Placement week

Students complete the work experience booklet with employers (return to form tutors on Monday 17th July 2017)

July – September

Employer Feedback

Students receive written feedback from employer

wc 17th July

Student Feeback

Students complete feedback form

wc 17th July

Parent Feedback

Parents receive feedback

September

Certificate

Students receive certificates

 

Form Tutor and Work Experience Team contact details

Tutor Group

Staff name

Staff email address

10 France

Mrs N Frith

nfrith@horburyacademy.com

10 Portugal

Mrs S Stevens

sstevens@horburyacademy.com

10 Cuba

Miss N Perkin

nperkin@horburyacademy.com

10 Brazil

Mr I Tuke

Mrs A Beall

ituke@horburyacademy.com

abeall@horburyacademy.com

10 Vietnam

Miss L Gillatt

lgillatt@horburyacademy.com

10 China

Mr P Waud

pwaud@horburyacademy.com

10 Uganda

Mrs D Heeley

dheeley@horburyacademy.com

10 Botswana

Mr J Gillard

jgillard@horburyacademy.com

Work Experience Team

Job Title

Email Address

Miss M White

Head of Year 10

mwhite@horburyacademy.com

Mrs J Jones

Assistant Headteacher

jjones@horburyacademy.com

Mrs B Shingler

Work Experience Co-ordinator

workexperience@horburyacademy.com

Ms W Kerley

Careers Adviser

wkerley@horburyacademy.com